New House or Less Stuff?

dream house
elraziq.com

Since the announcement of our little one’s arrival in November, I have had several people ask me what I am going to do since our house is small for the size of our family.  Are we going to add on, build, or move?  The answer has nothing to do with our housing situation.  I love our little house.  It was remodeled for us with love, and as much to my specifications as possible.  Until we can debt-free or nearly debt free get a larger house we will love this house even more.

Am I going to try to play God and control the number of blessings which come in the form of children?  No way!!!  I am totally confident that God knows how many children He has planned for us, and I am confident that He has a plan for us to house them.  Whether it be a larger house or the creativeness to house a large family in a small house, there is a plan and He is in control of it.  We just have to trust Him.

So just exactly how I am  going to make room for a family of seven in the three bedroom house?  The answer is simple.  We are going to limit the “stuff” we have in our house.  I just had a garage sale this last weekend were I watched many of the things that I just “had to have” leave.  The sad thing about is, there was not one thing that I sold that is now going to be greatly missed.   My kids parted with a few toys that they have not played with in months, some of which that were gifts given to them that had never even been out of the package.  They were sad to see them on the table, but once their money envelopes hit their hands the pain and suffering of selling the toys instantly vanished.

Where does this leave us?  It leaves me with less “stuff” to organize, therefore less stress.  It leaves my kids with more free time because they are not constantly hunting for a specific toy, and less time spent picking-up.  My husband is satisfied because the house is tidier and the kids aren’t fighting over who has to pick up what.  Overall, it leaves us with more time to enjoy and spend together along with…….more space in our house!  I am looking forward to our life with more time of enjoyment, less stress from the clutter of stuff and more space for all the little ones to come.

 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, were moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven where neither moth nor rust destroys, and there thieves do not break in or steal; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”
Matthew 6:19-21

This entry was posted in Life's lessons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment